Try Orion

The 2014 Orion Book Award

Each spring, the Orion Book Award is presented to books that amplify Orion’s mission, represent excellence in writing, and that we believe Orion readers will enjoy. The award has been conferred annually by Orion since 2007.

New in 2014, the award now includes categories for fiction and nonfiction. Over 250 books published in 2013 were considered for this year’s awards.

The four fiction finalists for the 2014 Orion Book Award are the following:

All the Land to Hold Us, by Rick Bass (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Archipelago, by Monique Roffey (Penguin Books)

The Last Animal, by Abby Geni (Counterpoint)

MaddAddam, by Margaret Atwood (Nan A. Talese)

The four nonfiction finalists are:

Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants, by Robin Wall Kimmerer (Milkweed Editions)

Countdown: Our Last, Best Hope for a Future on Earth?, by Alan Weisman (Little, Brown, and Company)

Sightlines: A Conversation with the Natural World, by Kathleen Jamie (The Experiment)

The Urban Bestiary: Encountering the Everyday Wild, by Lyanda Lynn Haupt (Little, Brown, and Company)

Read reports from Orion staff on these and other 2013 books at our blog. The winner of each category will be announced in the second week of May.

The Orion Book Award recognizes books published in North America during the previous calendar year. Nominations for the award are made by advisors, writers, editors, and contributing editors of Orion. Selection of the winners and finalists is made by the Orion staff. We accept nominations from authors, publishers, editors, and agents of books that they have been involved with.

More information about previous Orion Book Award winners and finalists is available here.

Orion publishes six thoughtful, inspiring, and beautiful issues a year,
supported entirely by our readers – we're completely ad-free!

Please consider donating to help us continue to explore the future of nature.

Article Resources